Dream-lover

Dream-lover

Today when I woke up, you vanished
Like morning mist in the rising sun. You,
My dear, my sunshine love,
Nothing more than shadow and memory.

A vague impression of a presence, a haunting;
A ghost that slips between the walls dividing
Past and hopes, bound to me by the chains
Of our dreams, our sorrows.

I lie as you touch me, your dewdrop impressions
Kissing my lips and caressing my cheeks
As you fall from my eyes, distilled and pure,
Away from me, effacing yourself into the vast emptiness.

As the sun climbs, I hide
In the shadows, afraid of the scorching
Real torment, afraid to see illuminated
The things that are so clear they blind me.

In the shadows of nightfall I see your face
Larger than life, emerging from the deep
Recesses of my soul, as the light starts
To stop hiding you from my hungry eyes.

And as the moon rises and the night cools
You step out into the shadows and into my arms.
There, if only for an instant, we are reunited.
In my arms you live, as real as a memory,
As true as the heavens and rainbows and doves.
Your eyes are liquid mercury in the moonlight,
The poison ambrosia I hungrily drink.
Your dewdrop impressions crystalline
Rest on my lips, my skin, and my soul.
My lungs breathe in your warm fragrance,
Diffusing itself from the icy winds,
Depositing itself into a temporary existence.
Bodies pressing close, we embrace into eternity
Until the morning slowly takes you away,
Drifting off into oblivion
Once more.

Today when I woke up, you vanished
Once again, my dear, my dream-lover.
And for another day memories of you trickle
Through my eyelids, dreams manifested
In tears.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑